State of Colorado Crime Victim Compensation Program
Colorado’s Crime Victim Compensation Program was created by state statute (CRS §24-4.1-101) in 1981. Colorado has a decentralized system, which means that crime victim compensation programs exist in each of the state’s 22 judicial districts. The judicial district where the crime occurred is responsible for accepting and reviewing victim compensation applications. If you are the victim of a violent crime in Colorado, or if you are a Colorado resident who has been victimized in a state or country that does not have a victim compensation program, you may be eligible to receive crime victim compensation. Colorado residents who are victims of terrorist acts may also be eligible for victim compensation. Applications must be submitted to the district where the crime occurred.
Victims may be eligible to receive up to $20,000 for out-of-pocket expenses not covered by insurance or other collateral resources, or up to $1,000 in emergency funds directly related to the crime. Funds to pay crime victim compensation claims do not come from taxpayers. These funds are collected from fines from criminals convicted of felony, misdemeanor, and some traffic offenses. Due to the number of claims and financial constraints, not every program can pay up to the statutory maximum. Again, you must contact the district where the crime occurred to determine eligibility.
Compensation Eligibility Requirements (C.R.S. §24-4.1-108)
For the complete Crime Victim Compensation Statute, please refer to State of Colorado Title 24, Article 4.1 (Parts 1, 2 and 3) Crime Victim Compensation and Victim Witness Rights.
– The crime must be one in which the victim sustains mental or bodily injury, dies, or suffers property damage to locks, windows or doors to residential property as a result of a compensable crime.
– The victim must cooperate with law enforcement officials (district attorney, police).
– The police were notified within 72 hours after the crime occurred.
– The injury or death of the victim was not the result of the victim’s own wrongdoing or substantial provocation.
– The victimization occurred on or after July 1, 1982.
– The application for compensation must be submitted within one year from the date of the crime; six months for property damage claims.
Note: The local Victim Compensation Board may waive some of these requirements, including the requirement that an application must be submitted within one year of the crime, or six months of the date of the property damage for cases involving property, for good cause or in the interest of justice.
Losses directly related to the compensable crime are eligible for reimbursement and include:
– Medical expenses
– Mental health expenses
– Lost wages
– Loss of support to dependents
– Funeral expenses
– Residential property damage, including security doors
Note: Please refer to Colorado Revised Statute (§24-4.1-109) and the program administrator in the district where the crime occurred for a comprehensive list of compensable losses.
How to File a Claim
Victims are required to apply for Victim Compensation in the district where the crime occurred by completing an application and submitting itemized bills directly related to the crime in the district where the crime occurred. The processing time is different for each district, however, it generally takes 30-45 days to be notified of the program’s decision.
You may contact the victim compensation administrator in the district where the crime occurred for an application or may use the application attached below and send it to the Victim Compensation administrator. Districts may require additional information from applicants.
Most Judicial Districts have a system in place to assist non-English speaking victims of crime. Please contact the Victim Compensation Administrator in the Judicial District where the crime occurred for further assistance.
For more information contact:
|Jill Olsen, VALE Administrator|
|400 Warner Street|
|Ft. Morgan, CO 80701|
|Phone: (970) 542-3473|